Dear Mr. Frank Ocean

I know everyone is looking to you, waiting for you to give us more.
More albums, more music, more songs…

The media hasn’t let up since you let us know a new side of you. I guess they think pink matters somehow..
I do know that the world is in dire need of music that makes us feel something real.
Finding ourselves always waiting, wondering, considering, complaining, but are we listening?
We all try to, but most of us don’t.
As listeners we’re selfish.
We listen for ourselves without realizing the heart it comes from.

The thing about me is I’ve never been much of a listener, but I listened to you.
Your music made me a fan of your heart.
I know that is what you poured into everything you gave us.
Songs for women, men, black, white, she, he & all people engaged in the human experience.
You laid your soul on soundtracks I’ll slap like oldies until the pyramids cease to exist. Your pain became ours.
But your pain was yours too.
So as a fan of your heart,
I am not impatiently waiting for an album or even patiently waiting for a track.
I am thanking you for the transparency of your spirit that you put in every project.
Thank you for giving us a sweet lifetime of unforgettable memories.
Your music came to start at a time when most of us didn’t know how truly lost we were. Setting wildfires of passion in our lives.

Wherever you are, whatever you’re doing, whoever you’re with, I just want you to know that I’m thinkin bout you. And maybe if you have one, someday I’ll be invited to your american wedding because there will be tears.

I hope you don’t need the novacane now that you’re somewhere swimming good.
-from a mermaid with love.

Leave a comment